2019年,世界起了翻天覆地的變化,讓人無法不感知到生活中的許多剎那(1)。但人類以外的動植物,卻是一如以往地過日子。我妒忌牠們的同時,又不禁想要歌頌牠們,於是開始創作一系列水彩畫,向靜靜過活的大自然致敬。

 

系列作品的起點,是恩斯特·海克爾(2)出版的生物插畫《自然界的藝術型態》。我將來自自然的元素──水,加在他的精緻畫作上,以展現自然界生存的純粹,以及當中的美態。

 

而我亦由2021年6月開始,大約每星期一次,到龍虎山進行實地考察和創作。我持續地,讓水改變我的龍虎山寫生,還有中心提供的動植物照片。現在,已發展出約500幅作品。

 

要是沒有這些實地考察和創作,作品「こもれび   Komorebi」(「隙光」,意即「從枝葉縫隙中灑落的陽光」)不會成長至現在的模樣。

 

陽光灑落山林小徑,地上的影子吸引了我的目光。那些投射到地面的「こもれび」與太陽一樣呈圓形,不受樹葉縫隙的形狀影響。我後來知道,這與針孔相機(針孔成像)(3)是一樣的原理。

 

藉着水──水彩或水墨,這種由樹木、風、陽光、時間與環境互動產生的現象,還有太陽每小時移動15度的的軌跡,都記錄在紙上。用色只依從直覺,整個過程由無數「刹那」交織而成。我亦發現,其他語言並沒有「こもれび」(日語漢字:木漏れ日)或是它的近義詞,只有日語才有形容這種現象的單詞。

 

在這變化中的世界,能夠繼續透過作品去表達我創作的中心思想-「刹那」,我感到很高興。也感激當下這個世界,那些淨化心靈的經驗。

 

非常希望「こもれび   Komorebi」系列作品,能在大家心中留下印象。

註釋:

1. 「剎那」一詞源自佛學,是形容極短時間的單位(一剎那=0.013秒)。「剎那生滅」是指人的念頭、以及世間一切事物的生滅,都在一剎那之間。

 

2. 恩斯特·海克爾(1834-1919),德國生物學家、海洋生物學家、博物學家、哲學家、醫生、教授和藝術家。他描繪了連繫所有生物的家譜圖,並發表了復演說,指個體發生(胚胎的發育過程,從受精到妊娠和孵化)是系統發生(遠古祖先成年個體的進化)的縮影,而且不斷重複。雖然此理論後來被推翻,但海克爾所繪的生物插畫,卻啟發了20世紀初的新藝術運動。1904年,他創作的100幅生物插畫,合輯成《自然界的藝術型態》出版。

 

3. 物體反射的光線,通過針孔,在成像面形成倒立的影像。現在的相機也有着相同原理。(見圖)

Artboard 1_4x.png

AYUMI ADACHI 

個展

20220623_隙光 Poster.jpg

藝術家簡介

1972年 生於兵庫縣西脇市

1994年 畢業於大阪藝術大學綜合藝術部,主修繪畫

1996年 移居香港繼續創作

 

深受時間軸概念、大自然和人類生命週期啟發,AYUMI ADACHI的創作以繪畫和大型裝置為主。她的裝置作品多使用低技術材料,因應特定場域或時間創作;平面作品多使用融合材料(例如鏡子),並揉合繪畫與雕塑技巧。

 

曾在多個國家舉辦個展和聯展,包括日本兵庫縣、大阪、東京、京都、新潟、群馬、神奈川等;以及越南、法國、印度、葡萄牙、保加利亞、澳門、上海、台北和香港。2010年起參與國際藝術展,作品並在四季酒店(香港)、香格里拉大酒店(東京、廣州、天津)、喜來登酒店(中國)等地點常設展示。

 

為2021年 第24屆岡本太郎當代藝術獎(TARO獎)24位入選藝術家之一。

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
DSC08489.JPG

展期/ 即日起至2022年6月26日(日)
地點/ 龍虎山環境教育中心


免費入場

展覽團隊

 

主辦/ 龍虎山環境教育中心

展出藝術家/ Ayumi Adachi

策展及統籌/ 盧碧玲、陳燕瑜

平面設計/ 關朗曦 

文字編輯及翻譯/ 鄭頌賢、陳燕瑜、林蕙芝

Komorebi logo.png

In 2019, the world as we knew it was upended, making it impossible not to notice and confront each “Setsuna”(1) in life. Yet the changes seem only to affect humans– other animals and plants going on with their lives as if nothing happened. While it brings in me a sense of envy, I also cannot help the admiration I feel. I therefore started to create a series of watercolor paintings, paying homage to those who live on quietly. 

 

The artworks in the series begin with Ernst Haeckel (2)'s biological sketches of “Art Forms of Nature“. I add the natural element– water– onto his detailed sketches, showing the simplicity and beauty of life in nature.
 

From June of 2021, I have been visiting Lung Fu Shan every week in person for my creation. I continuously let water change the sketches I created, as well as the pictures the Centre provided on the flora and fauna of Lung Fu Shan. Now the series has developed to around 500 pieces.
 

If it were not for the site visits and creation, the art work “こもれび   Komorebi”  (the sunlight filtering through the trees) could not have grown to the way it is today.

 

Sunlight sprinkles down the path on the hill, the shadows on the floor drawing my eyes to them.

The "Komorebi" projected on the ground is all round shaped–like the Sun, unaffected by the shape of the gaps between the leaves. I only learned later that this is the same principle as a pinhole camera (natural pinhole phenomenon)(3).

 

Through water–watercolor and ink–I record on paper the interaction of trees, wind, sunlight, time and the environment, as well as the Sun’s passage of moving 15 degrees every hour. My choice of colour is purely instinctual. This whole creation process is weaved by infinite “Setsunas”. I also learned “Komorebi” is a phrase unique in Japanese, a direct or even close description of the image not to be found in any other language.

 

Living in this perpetually changing world, I am proud to be able to express my philosophy of creation– “Setsuna”. I am also grateful for this world, for these purifying experiences. 


I truly hope that my series of artworks,“こもれび   Komorebi”, will leave an imprint on all of your hearts. 

Notes:

  1. “Setsuna” is the Japanese pronunciation of “ksana”. The Sanskrit word “ksana” originated from Buddhism, measuring an extremely miniscule unit of time (one ksana equals approximately 0.013 seconds). The phrase “birth and death within a “ksana” means that the life and death of our thoughts and all beings in the world is only within a single ksana. 

 

  1. Ernst Haeckel (1834 - 1919) was a German zoologist, marine biologist, naturalist, philosopher, physician, professor and artist. He mapped a genealogical tree connecting all life forms, published the Recapitulation Theory, hypothesising that the development of the embryo of an animal, from fertilisation to gestation or hatching, resembles that of phylogeny, the successive adult stages in the evolution of the animal’s remote ancestors. Even though his hypothesis was later overturned, Haeckel’s work influenced the Art Nouveau style in the early 20th Century. His creation of a total of 100 detailed, multi-colour illustrations of animals, was published in 1904 as Kunstformen der Natur (Art Forms of Nature).

 

  1. The refracted light rays pass through the pinhole to form an inverted image on the imaging plane. The cameras we use now function on the same principle. (See picture on the right)

Artboard 1_4x.png

AYUMI ADACHI 

Solo Exhibition

20220623_隙光 Poster.jpg

About the Artist

AYUMI ADACHI was born in Hyogo, Japan in 1972. She graduated from the Osaka University of Art in 1994 with a major in painting. Ayumi has been living and creating in Hong Kong since 1996. 

 

Inspired by the concept of the axis of time, as well as the life cycle of nature and humans, she creates mostly paintings and large-scale installations. Her installation works use low-technology materials for site and time specific art. Her two-dimensional works include paintings that utilise integrated materials (e.g. mirror) and unique techniques combining painting and sculpting.


She has had several solo and group exhibitions in Hyogo, Osaka, Tokyo, Kyoto, Niigata, Gunma and Kanagawa in Japan, and Vietnam, France, India, Portugal, Bulgaria, Macau, Shanghai, Taipei and Hong Kong. Her artworks have also been exhibited at international art fairs since 2010. Her works are also in permanent collections of venues like the Four Seasons Hotel (HK), Shangri-la Hotel (Tokyo, Guangzhou, Tianjin) and Sheraton Hotel (China).

In 2021, she was one of the 24 artists selected for the 24th Taro Okamoto Award for Contemporary Art.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
DSC08489.JPG

Exhibition Date/ until 17 July, 2022 (Sun)
Location/ Lung Fu Shan Environmental Education Centre


Free admission

Production Team

 

Organised by/ Lung Fu Shan Environmental Education Centre 

Artist/ Ayumi Adachi

Curation and Project Management/ Helen Lo, Angela Chan

Graphic Design/ Matthew Kwan

Editors and Translators/ Joanne Cheng, Angela Chan, Jolie Lam

Komorebi logo.png